Have You Ever Had an Ideapalooza Party?

 

Favorite Tools of the Trade

Favorite Tools of the Trade

 

As a writer, I am often asked by young writers, friends and clients how I keep from writer’s block. The answer is, I don’t always. However, when faced with an occasional brick wall, I find there are many resources out there that can help ignite the fire within and concoct fresh ideas with just a little prompting.

So you’re asking yourself, what in the world is an Ideapalooza Party?

Well as I discussed last week, I tend to have this geeky passion to capture as many ideas as I can so when I can’t think of a creative writing direction, or a client is asking for something unique and I am fresh out of ideas, I have something to begin the idea generation. That’s why once a month I hold an ideapalooza party for myself. I surround myself with lots of coffee, magazines, websites and favorite books. Then for one day, I turn off my phone, shut down my email and write down as many ideas as I can for future projects. 

Check out one site that I usually go to  when beginning my idea generating party.  It offers a unique way of cultivating ideas by simply clicking on a number. It’s called Creative Writing Prompts and it’s a fun way to start up your writer’s engine. Try it out for yourself. My favorite so far is # 47- “In 500 words or less, write about a plate of sunshine”. 

Have fun creating!

Sarah @ Dog-Eared Pages

1 Comment

Filed under Marketing, Writing

One response to “Have You Ever Had an Ideapalooza Party?

  1. anyushka

    great idea! – I’ll have an Ideapalooza party as soon as I can :)…

Leave a Reply

